All Photos: Maryann Lopinto

The Bistro Awards
Gotham Comedy Club
March 11, 2019

The Bistro Awards are a celebration of talent that feels a lot like a classy party with a couple hundred of your favorite people. This year’s event was presented at the Gotham Comedy Club and hosted by Sherry Eaker

Sherry Eaker, Editor in Chief, and Producer of the annual Awards Show

Attendees entered to the soothing strains of a top-tier jazz trio (Ian Herman – MD / Piano, Ritt Henn – Bass, Rex Benincasa – Drums/Percussion) setting the tone for greeting friends and congratulating the honorees who circulate among the audience members before the show.

Judy Collins





This year’s well-run event celebrated the life’s work of Judy Collins;  she received the Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award presented by ASCAP.  Ms. Collins’ performance and acceptance speech paid witness to her well-known artistry and also showed her to be a very warm and down-to-earth person – a refreshing quality in one so accomplished.

Patrick Swailes Caldwell

The Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award went to Patrick Swailes Caldwell who wowed the crowd with his clever and frequently hilarious juggling and sleight of hand prestidigitations.

Sidney Meyer


The much-loved and admired Sidney Myer received the award for Unique Artistry; his performance delighted the audience with his signature alloy of humor and pathos.






Lisa Viggiano

Luba Mason

Lisa Viggiano and Luba Mason both won Vocalist awards.

Philip Chaffin

Shirley Crabbe






And, recording awards were given to Philip Chaffin, for his CD, Will He Like Me? and Shirley Crabbe for her CD, Bridges.





Ricky Ritzel, Jon Satrom, Alison Nussbaum and Brian Kalinowski

The irrepressible Ricky Ritzel won the Musical Series award for his fun showbiz extravaganza, Ricky Ritzel’s Broadway; He performed with 3 of his talented music friends from Don’t Tell Mama (Jon Satrom, Alison Nussbaum and Brian Kalinowski)


Marnie Klar



Marnie Klar took home an award for her Tribute Show,  Marnie Klar Sings Bobbie Gentry.  

Awards were also presented to Lee Horwin  (Blues, Ballads & Sin Songs: The Legend of Libby Holman – Musical Portrayal),

Daniel Alexander Jones (as Jomama Jones – Performance Artistry), Sierra Rein (Debut),

Frances Ruffelle (Major Engagement), Tanya Moberly (Director) and Cynthia Sayer (Singer-Instrumentalist-Bandleader).