“‘Sondheim Unplugged’ is creating something entirely new and worthwhile. It has, in fact, given us a hat, where there never was a hat.” – The Wall Street Journal



YELLOW SOUND LABEL has announced that Sondheim Unplugged: The NYC Sessions – Volume One was released today, Wednesday, December 1, in streaming and digital formats, in addition to a 2-disc CD. The album – the opening salvo of a monumental three-volume set dedicated to the oeuvre of the late iconic musical theater composer Stephen Sondheim – is produced by the series creator Phil Geoffrey Bond and features Music Director Joseph Goodrich on piano. Sondheim Unplugged: The NYC Sessions, which will ultimately encompass 70 singers and 120 songs, is a landmark collection destined to be a major contribution to the canon of Sondheim recordings. The series will continue on what would have been Sondheim’s 92nd birthday, March 22, 2022, for Volume Two, and June 1, 2022 for Volume Three. Sondheim Unplugged: The NYC Sessions – Volume One, currently Amazon’s #1 Best-Selling recording in “Musical Soundtracks and Scores,” is now available at YellowSoundLabel.com and SondheimUnplugged.com.

Sondheim Unplugged is the smash New York revue captured here with electrifying performances from some of Broadway’s most impressive vocalists, who collectively boast over 100 Broadway credits to their names. Several of the collection’s key performers actually originated roles in Sondheim musicals, including Annie Golden (Assassins), Danielle Ferland (Into the Woods, Sunday in the Park with George), and Teri Ralston (Company, A Little Night Music). The illustrious list continues with Tony Award winners (Alice Ripley), Tony Award nominees (Sally Mayes), and even an acclaimed vocal quintet (Marquee Five).

In contrast to some of the grand concert presentations of the composer’s work, Sondheim Unplugged strives to convey each song simply and essentially, burnished by impeccable performances and enhanced by spare yet elegant piano accompaniment. The album highlights many of the best-loved tunes from the master composer’s catalog (“Send in the Clowns,” “Broadway Baby”), as well as lesser-heard, sparkling treasures from shows like The Frogs and Road Show. Recorded in the studio throughout 2020 and 2021, this is a once-in-a-generation compendium of some of the most classic songs in contemporary musical theater history.

Yellow Sound Label is thrilled to feature this amazing collection of songs,” says label’s executive producer Michael Croiter. “It’s a privilege to present such a unique and important project of this scope, complete with indelible vocal performances and Stephen Sondheim’s legendary artistry.”

Forbes called Sondheim Unplugged “a nightlife staple for Sondheim devotees and New York’s musical theater community.” According to BroadwayWorld.com, “Sondheim Unplugged isn’t just one of the most entertaining shows in New York City, it’s one of the most important. This is a stellar and starry cast, all sublimely talented musicians and crackerjack actors – both gifts that, when combined, add up to some noteworthy entertainment.” The New York Times invites you to “pour yourself a glass of something bubbly and enjoy.”

Sondheim Unplugged – hosted by series creator Phil Geoffrey Bond, who fills the audience in on Sondheimian facts, history, and assorted tidbits of theatrical lore – has been a celebrated monthly New York event since 2010, featuring some of Broadway and the nightclub scene’s most dynamic voices, accompanied by piano only. In addition to its regular home of Feinstein’s/54 Below in New York, the evening has been seen in venues and performing arts centers, including NJPAC (New Jersey Performing Arts Center), and in London at The Hippodrome and Live at Zedel.

The show is the recipient of the BroadwayWorld New York Cabaret Award for “Best Variety Show/Recurring Series” and the Bistro Award for “Outstanding Cabaret Series,” in addition to a nomination for “Show of the Year” from the Manhattan Association of Clubs.

For more information and to listen to a sample track from Volume One, please visit SondheimUnplugged.com.

YELLOW SOUND LABEL is an Emmy Award-winning and Grammy Award-nominated, cutting-edge company that produces established performers, up-and-coming artists and original cast recordings. The boutique label takes a hands-on approach in nurturing and producing passionate, focused performers and composers who create quality, noteworthy recordings. YellowSoundLabel.com


Disc One

  1. Something’s Coming – Marquee Five
  2. Broadway Baby – Michelle Dowdy
  3. What Can You Lose? – Nicholas Rodriguez
  4. The Right Girl – Aaron Ramey
  5. The Boy From – Lucia Spina
  6. Sooner or Later – Brian Charles Rooney
  7. Someone Is Waiting / Pretty Women – Alton Fitzgerald White
  8. Everybody Ought to Have a Maid – Jim Brochu
  9. I Remember – Lina Koutrakos
  10. The Glamorous Life – Blaine Krauss
  11. Ariadne – Eric Michael Gillett
  12. Gee, Officer Krupke – Jacob Hoffman
  13. Multitudes of Amys – John Treacy Egan
  14. In Buddy’s Eyes – Teri Ralston
  15. Old Friends / Like it Was – Donna Vivino
  16. Good Thing Going / Growing Up – Michael Winther
  17. By the Sea – Liz McCartney
  18. Send in the Clowns – Sally Mayes
  19. Children and Art – Danielle Ferland
  20. Being Alive – Christina Bianco, Carole J. Bufford and Scott Coulter

Disc Two

  1. The Ballad of Sweeney Todd – Marquee Five
  2. Agony – Tally Sessions and Jeff Kready
  3. What More Do I Need? – Lucia Spina
  4. No One Is Alone – Blaine Krauss
  5. Changing / Beautiful – Melanie Vaughan and Courter Simmons
  6. Let Me Entertain You / Broadway – Kate Loprest
  7. Unworthy of Your Love – Annie Golden and Michael Winther
  8. Live Alone and Like It – Karen Mason
  9. There Won’t Be Trumpets – Gabrielle Stravelli
  10. Your Eyes Are Blue – Stearns Matthews
  11. The Story of Lucy and Jessie – Victoria Cook
  12. Talent – Hunter Ryan Herdlicka
  13. Not While I’m Around – Julie Reyburn
  14. The Road You Didn’t Take – Eric Michael Gillett
  15. On the Steps of the Palace – Erica Spyres
  16. Maria – Brian Charles Rooney
  17. The Ladies Who Lunch – Alice Ripley
  18. Someone in a Tree – Jacob Hoffman
  19. Rain on the Roof – Stearns Matthews and Natalie Arneson
  20. I’m Still Here – Marta Sanders
  21. Color and Light – Claybourne Elder and Christina Bianco
  22. Sunday – Charlie Levy